Kingswood High School logo

Kingswood High School

Kingswood High School

Creating opportunities for success

Telephone02 4736 1202

HSC Minimum Standards & Examinations information

HSC Minimum Standard

The HSC minimum standard

The HSC minimum standard is part of an effort to improve the literacy and numeracy outcomes for students. From 2020, students in NSW will need to demonstrate a minimum standard of literacy and numeracy to receive their HSC. The HSC minimum standard is a way of supporting and ensuring students have a functional level of literacy and numeracy.

Link to NESA:

Online Tests

To achieve an HSC in 2020 and beyond, students must sit the HSC minimum standards online tests in reading, writing and numeracy. Each of the three tests are of 45 minutes duration. Students must achieve a level 3 in each test in order to meet the HSC minimum standard. This aligns with level 3 of the Australian Core Skills Framework (ACSF) which is considered the level required to function in everyday life, for work and further study beyond school.

Once the HSC minimum standard is achieved in all three areas, a student is eligible to receive the HSC.

Students can sit the online tests twice a year, in Year 10, 11 and 12 and up to five years after they start the HSC. Kingswood High School will advise you when your child will sit the online tests.

Please note: If a student sat the 2017 NAPLAN test and earned a band 8 in reading, writing and numeracy they will be deemed as meeting the HSC minimum standards and will not have to sit the HSC minimum standard online tests.

Support for students with additional needs

Some students with additional needs will be eligible for provisions for the minimum standard tests. These provisions can be approved by the principal.

The learning support team will liaise with the principal about extra provisions for the HSC minimum standard tests.

About the HSC 

The Higher School Certificate (HSC) is the credential awarded to secondary school students who successfully complete senior high school level studies (Years 11 and 12 or equivalent). It was first introduced in 1967....Read more